The East Bay Stonewall Democratic Club actively promotes Democratic candidates who are committed to equality for all and to protecting the interests of the LGBT community.  

Become an East Bay Stonewall member and you will be invited to participate in candidate forums throughout the election season and be given the opportunity to vote on endorsements (provided you become a member at least 7 days prior to an endorsement meeting). 

East Bay Stonewall encourages all who are eligible to REGISTER TO VOTE! Click here to register to vote.

2018 Club Endorsements

November 2018 Endorsements


CA Assembly District 15 - No Endorsement


Oakland Mayor - Libby Schaaf

Alameda Mayor - Marilyn Ezzy Ashcraft


Alameda City Council - Jim Oddie

Berkeley City Council, District 1 - No Endorsement

Berkeley City Council, District 4 - No Endorsement

Berkeley City Council, District 7 - No Endorsement

Berkeley City Council, District 8: Lori Droste 

Dublin City Council - Shawn Kumagai

Emeryville City Council - Dianne Martinez

Fremont City Council, District 1 - No Endorsement

Fremont City Council, District 3 - No Endorsement

Fremont City Council, District 4 - Debra Watanuki

Oakland City Council, District 2: Abel GuillĂ©n 

Oakland City Council, District 4 - No Endorsement

Oakland City Council, District 6 - No Endorsement

Piedmont City Council - Timothy Rood

San Leandro City Council, District 1 - No Endorsement

San Leandro City Council, District 5 - Corina Lopez


Oakland Auditor - Courtney Ruby

Berkeley Rent Board - James Chang 

Peralta Comm. College District 5 - No Endorsement

Alameda Unified School District - Mia Bonta

Berkeley School Directors - Ty Alper and Julie Sinai

Fremont Unified School Board - Dianne Jones

Oakland Unified School Board, District 4 - No Endorsement

San Leandro Unified School Board, District 6 - James Aguilar


Oakland Measure Z - YES

Oakland Measure AA - YES

Peralta Community College District Measures E & G - YES

Emeryville Measure S - YES

June 2018 Primary Club Endorsements

Secretary of State: Alex Padilla

State Treasurer: Fiona Ma

State Controller: Betty Yee

State Insurance Commissioner: Richard Lara

State Superintendent of Public Education: Tony Thurmond

State Board of Equalization, 2nd District: Malia Cohen

U.S. Congress CA District 13: Barbara Lee

Alameda County Superior Court, Seat 11: Judge Tara Flanagan

Alameda County Board of Education Trustee, Area 1: Joaquin Rivera

Alameda County Auditor: Irella Blackwood

Regional Measure 3 (Bridge Tolls): Vote NO

Alameda County Measure A (Early Child Education): Vote YES

Emeryville Measure C (Affordable Housing): Vote YES

Oakland Measure D (Library Services): Vote YES

While the club also voted on the Alameda County District Attorney, Assembly District 15 and Alameda County Assessor races, no candidate reached the 60% threshold.

2016 Club Endorsements

September 21 - Endorsements for the November 8 General Election

On September 21st, 2016 the East Bay Stonewall Democratic Club held its general election endorsement meeting for all qualified candidates for the November 8, 2016 election at the Sports Basement, 2727 Milvia St, Berkeley, CA 94703 from 5:30 – 7:30 pm.

Candidate questionnaires that were submitted for our endorsement process are available here: http://www.eastbaystonewalldemocrats.org/blog/questionnaires-of-candidates-being-considered-for-an-endorsement-on-august-31-for-the-november-8-election

The following candidates were officially endorsed by the club

  • Scott Jackson for Judge
  • Lynette Gibson McElhaney for Oakland City Council
  • Dan Kalb for Oakland City Council District 1
  • Susan Wengraf for Berkeley City Council

August 17 - Early Endorsement Meeting

Questionnaires completed for the August 17 Early Endorsement Meeting can be found here: http://www.eastbaystonewalldemocrats.org/blog/lgbtq-candidates-early-endorsement-meeting-questionnaires

The following candidates were endorsed at the August 17 Early Endorsement Meeting. In order to receive an endorsement by the club, candidates must have had received at least 60% of the votes.:

  • Peggy Moore - Oakland City Council At-Large
  • Darryl Moore - Berkeley City Council District 2
  • Judy Appel - Berkeley School Board
  • Rebecca Saltzman - BART Board of Directors
  • Dollene C. Jones - AC Transit
  • Daniel Chesmore - East Bay Regional Parks District 4
  • John Bauters - Emeryville City Council
  • Pablo Benavente - Concord City Council
  • Cesar Zapeda - Richmond City Council

March 30 - Endorsements for the June 7 California Primary

On March 30th, 2016, East Bay Stonewall Democratic Club members voted to endorse the following candidates for the June 2016 primary. Candidates must have had received at least 60% of the votes for an endorsement.

List of endorsed candidates:

  • Congress, District 13: Barbara Lee
  • Congress, District 15: Eric Swalwell
  • U.S. Senate: Kamala Harris
  • CA State Senate, District 9: Nancy Skinner
  • CA State Assembly, District 15: Tony Thurmond
  • CA State Assembly, District 16: Cheryl Cook-Kallio
  • CA State Assembly, District 18:  Rob Bonta
  • Alameda Country Supervisor, District 4: Nate Miley
  • Alameda Superior Court Judge, Seat 14: Margaret Fujioka
  • Alameda Superior Court: Vicky Kolakowski

2015 Club Endorsements

  • Susan Bonilla (CA District 7)

East Bay Stonewall Democratic Club. P.O. Box 7356, Berkeley, CA 94707                    Contact us at: eastbaystonewalldems@gmail.com     

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software